Misha Mahowald Prize for Neuromorphic Engineering

Welcome to the Misha Mahowald Prize

The Misha Mahowald Prize Prize for Neuromorphic Engineering recognizes outstanding research in neuromorphic engineering, worldwide. The Prize is named for the late Misha Mahowald, one of the most influential pioneers of the field of neuromorphic engineering.

The award is considered annually. This year's submission deadline was at 31 October 2021.

Individuals or groups are invited to submit a description of their work for consideration by the jury of world-leading figures in the field.

New: The Mahowald Early Career Award has been established for individual Master's, PhD, and early postdoctoral students. It is open for submissions year-round, and evaluated once per year.

2020 Prize

The 2020 Prize was unanimously awarded by the jury to Prof. Shih-Chii Liu and collaborators for “Hearing with Silicon Cochleas".

In addition, the jury conferred a Special Posthumous Award on the late Prof. Karlheinz Meier.

Award presentations are being prepared for the summer of 2021, taking into account event restrictions imposed by the Covid-19 pandemic.

Photo credit: T. Delbruck

The prize was created by iniLabs, an organization based in Switzerland dedicated to the promotion of research and applications of brain-like computation.

The prize is administered by iniForum GmbH, a Swiss association and events management company that promotes research and applications of brain-like computation.

Prize directors: Tobi Delbruck, Rodney Douglas, and Kynan Eng

Prize coordinator: Kathrin Aguilar (CEO iniForum)

Website: Martina Ban

Artwork: Dora Sumislawska